Day 4 Ruminations

The last 4 days have been difficult. We don’t want to quit, but we soooo want to quit!

Andy has been feeling sick the last few days. He thinks he got a bug of some kind. I think it’s the detox, but we’ll never know. He has to go out to lunch with coworkers tomorrow and it has been difficult finding the right thing to eat off the menu. It is a pizza place with hoagies, popcorn chicken, and wings. Even something as simple as a chef’s salad can be a landmine of cheats—like corn syrup in the lunch meat, grains in the croutons, or peas in the salad! One wrong move and he’ll have to start all over. It’s in the rules. I know he’ll make the right choice…I’m just afraid the only choice he’ll have is a plain salad.

I have been crazy exhausted…like pregnancy exhausted without the pregnancy. The last two nights I hit my pillow at 8:30. They call day 2 and 3 “The Hangover,” and now I know why. You wake up feeling like you haven’t slept, you have a gnawing headache, and you want to eat everything and nothing at the same time. Today I have more energy, I haven’t been as hungry, and my cravings have minimized. On Monday I really, really wanted to go to the store, buy a big bag of Doritos, and eat it in my car without anyone seeing me. I was about to do it…but I didn’t want to start over…the rules! But I made it through and figured out how to structure my meals so I can work with my cravings. I’ve made a spinach and fruit smoothie/drink every day that I save for my mid afternoon snack when my sugar cravings hit. And on the way home, I eat a spoonful of almond butter to satisfy  me until dinner. I don’t think the Whole 30 wants you to snack, but if almond butter keeps my brain focused enough to get my car safely home, I’m going to snack.

So, 4 days done. Off to bed feeling full, proud, and still wanting Doritos!

Leave a Reply

